PDA

View Full Version : How to become a freight dog

outthere
20th Apr 2005, 21:03
Hi fellow pilots,

I am a student pilot in australia with 4 hours up so far. I have always wanted to fly (a jet fighter pilot in the RAAF), but my weight let me down. I am always looking at aircraft and cant get enough of being up in the sky learning to fly. Just wondering what the path is to follow to become a freight dog. It sounds very interesting.

Any help would be appreciated.

Jeremy Nunn
www.ozaircraft.backpackersharetravel.com

Sorry I just looked down the list and found my answer.

Ignore my post.

jpsingh
21st Apr 2005, 10:23
Well, its kind of strange that you wanted to be a fighter jock and now are interested in being a freight dog !! I have done that flying for about seven to eifgt years and am back to Airline flying. Freight flying requires you to be able to work your timings around as all flying is primarily at night and only your copilot for company. No galley so no hot meals and no one to serve you!! The additional problem is that you are on a different clock from your family and friends so social life becomes practically nonexistant. At your age ,probably its good for experience but definitely not a long term career.
The positives are that night flying is peaceful,less turbulent and relatively less traffic (This ofcourse will depend on the routes that you do)). Having done both, I would any day opt for Airline Flying !!

fights on
7th May 2005, 04:50
Son as a former anchor clanker (Navy fighter guy) as I can say is
"IF YOU CAN EAT FOOT THATS BEEN SITTING ON A TRAY IN THE HALL WAY ALL NIGHT" then maybe you can be a Freight Dog

Son as a former anchor clanker (Navy fighter guy) all I can say is
"IF YOU CAN EAT FOOT THATS BEEN SITTING ON A TRAY IN THE HALL WAY ALL NIGHT" then maybe you can be a Freight Dog

Onan the Clumsy
10th May 2005, 17:50
and it looks like that IS all you can say ;)

Solid Rust Twotter
10th May 2005, 19:14