PDA

View Full Version : Instructor Hours per Month

finals24
20th Apr 2005, 16:17
As a relatively new instructor I am concerned about the low number of flying hours I am logging. The primary purpose of the job is to build hours and my remuneration is linked to flying hours. These two factors together are concerning me!

I realise that it takes time to build up a student base but from what I have seen todate, it is easy for the School to overstaff with instructors if they have little or no financial penalty for doing so.

Therefore I would be interested in other views as to how many hours a full time FI would expect to log in a month such as April with 'average weather.

Finals24

Esperanza
21st Apr 2005, 09:54
I've been instructing for +10 years and I usually reckon to fly approximately 550 hours/ year on average.

The unfortunate truth is that if you're working as an FI in the UK then you're always going to struggle to fly as much as you would like to. I think that this April I've probably only flown about 40 hours. Having said that I'm a stickler for only going flying if the weather is suitable for the student. This obviously means that I always fly a few hours less than a less conscientous (but better off) instructor.

'I' in the sky
22nd Apr 2005, 09:17
The primary purpose of the job is to build hours !?!

silverknapper
22nd Apr 2005, 09:43
I noticed that too. Not really a nice attitude.

flying paddy
22nd Apr 2005, 09:51
This attitude that we instructors are only here to build hours so we can move on to better things has to change. Some of us wish to be career instuctors and enjoy passing on our knowledge. I would suggest that anyone who is in it for just hour building should look else where. You should ask yourself just how professional you are. You cannot possible be giving your best to your student. It is just that attitude that leads us to be the bottom of the pile.