PDA

View Full Version : Speaking to locals in their language

zerozero
9th Apr 2005, 07:10
Here's one for you world travelers.

I've been studying a particular language in my free time for the last seven years or so. I'm far from fluent but it's something for which I always make time.

So when I happen to pass through the country where this language is spoken I look forward to the opportunity to practice with the locals.

Now I'm not complaining but my company always puts us up in very nice hotels where the staff usually speaks excellent English--and of course their English is much better than my butchering of their language.

But sometimes when I initiate a conversation in their language they immediately respond in English.

How am I to take this? I'll admit it: It bothers me. It's like they're saying, "Don't even try."

Or maybe they just respond in English because they want to be sure I understand.

Or they themselves are eager to practice their English.

I don't know but it's frustrating me to the point where in fact I don't want to even try. Or at least I speak English in the hotel and when I'm out and about in town I try the local language again.

Anyone else experience this? Does it bother you? Am I being too touchy?

No, it's not France.;)

Loose rivets
9th Apr 2005, 07:28
Disguise yourself as a local a la Spike Milligan :cool:

WestWind1950
9th Apr 2005, 07:33
if it was France, then they'd continue in French :p