PDA

View Full Version : flying hours

c.r.m what is it
9th Mar 2005, 12:18
Hi guys,

Need some help here! Is anybody else having problems understanding these new rules about cabin crew flying hours?

One minute i am being grounded, because I have worked to many hours, and the next I am not!

Does this roll on, or just run from say apr to apr? If i change airlines do I start from 0 again? It just seems I never get the right answers from my company.

Cheers in advance

crm

phoenix son
9th Mar 2005, 12:30
c.r.m.

By "new rules", what exactly are you referring to? I suspect what you may be getting at is the fact that your cumulative hours are now calculated over a "rolling" period rather than a calendar week, month, year etc, so that in theory they should even out over the course of the year.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I'll help if I can...

c.r.m what is it
9th Mar 2005, 12:52
I'm sorry, did'nt make myself very clear, that is what i am on about.

I am just worried that i am being restricted to such few flying hours already, after a busy summer, I don't want to have to give up flying, but can't afford to be grounded all the time.

Do they carry it on to other airlines, or would you start again? Does anyone know the answer to that one??

phoenix son
9th Mar 2005, 13:00
in my airline (UK charter), the nature of the work means that the summer season is much busier, and therefore the crews are much closer to their maximum hours in this period of the year, therefore they can expect to work a much-reduced roster through the winter. I'm certainly not aware of any of our crews being grounded due to reaching their annual limit (could be wrong of course).

I have no idea what the situation is when you move companies, although I strongly suspect that you start from scratch.

Getoutofmygalley
9th Mar 2005, 17:20
Hi c.r.m.

I am in the same boat as you and I wouldn't be surprised if we both worked for the same airline!!!