PDA

View Full Version : Help with rebuilding a PC

fueldump
4th Mar 2005, 08:34
Hi, I am about to try and update my old PC. This will involve me salvaging as many parts from my old system. So bear with me because I am a complete novice with this.

I have just purchased an AOPEN MX46-88N motherboard (from ebay) and my question is what else do I have to buy to make it work? I appreciate that Iwill have to buy a PCU, but any advice on which one. Do I need a fan to cool it down? As I said I am a complete novice so any advice (helpfull) would be great. I anly want the PC for web stuff etc I don't need a gaming PC.

Thanks in advance

Fueldump:ok:

pilotwolf
4th Mar 2005, 11:02
What spec was your old system?

PW

Stoney X
4th Mar 2005, 11:56
fueldump,

If you purchase a new processor then it will come with a fan so no need to worry there. Two things I can think of that you will need to check. Does your new MB use the same spec memory as the old and does your psu (power supply unit) have the correct plugs. Older psu's don't have the processor plug that is now needed. A new one will cost £15-£20.

Regards
Stoney

fueldump
4th Mar 2005, 16:00
Pilotwolf, sorry I have got no idea sorry. I hope to open the thing up this weekend:bored: It was/ is a Tiny computer. I will have a look at the spec when I get it and post it here.

Thanks
Fueldump

Thanks Stoney I guess I will find out when I open it up if the conectors will fit.

rotorcraig
4th Mar 2005, 16:39
If you do a Google (http://www.google.co.uk) search on something like "build you own" motherboard cpu you will find loads of sites that take you through what components you need.

You will also find explanations on what needs to match (eg PSU must be compatible with Motherboard, Motherboard must be compatible with both CPU and RAM, etc).

Haven't posted direct links to any here as, they are all invariably online PC shops who want you to buy your new bits and pieces from them!

RC

fueldump
4th Mar 2005, 17:01