PDA

View Full Version : Line v Base Maintenance

xthread
3rd Mar 2005, 12:23
Hi all, new to this forum and need help already!
I will shortly have to explain to some Industry outsiders (tribunal) the differences between Line and Base Maintenance and why as a Line Engineer I don't fancy working in a hangar. Obviously I know the difference, most of you will as well.
How do I explain it though? HELP!

woderick
3rd Mar 2005, 21:55
This is probably going to seem a bit harsh but I assume that you are a B1 or B2 and not an A licenced person. An A licence is, in my view, just a certifying mechanic with limited capability and you might aswell stop reading now.
If you are going to tribunal then you imply some form of dispute, possibly to the point of dismissal.
My opinion is that you have no grounds. A Licenced Engineer, B1 or B2 is just that and it is the same qualification, Line or Hangar.
I am assuming that you are a Line Engineer that your employer has seen fit to move to a hangar environment, tough.
You should try, and if you don't "Like" the hangar then attempt to return to the Line environment, if this is refused then move on.
"not fancying" something is no reason for a tribunal to look favourably on unfair dismissal (reading between the lines)
I write this as someone with 30 years of line work forcibly moved to a Maintrol position which I didn't fancy, but two years later find even more of a challenge than line work for this B2.

Krystal n chips
4th Mar 2005, 07:33
Sorry to shatter your hopes, but if you have to ask for help as to how to make the distinction between a Line and Hangar based Engineer, then your chances of success at the Tribunal are less than zero. Doesn't say much for your legal representation either.