PDA

View Full Version : Confused UK Wannabe

iomwill
22nd Jan 2005, 21:02
Right then now i am confused,

Basically being a commercial pilot has alway's been an ambition of mine which i alway's thought was out of my reach! after a recent relationship breakdown with yes a BA Hostie! i've re-evaluated my life and thought right i'd like to chase one of my lifetime's dreams!!

Basically i work in IT and was searching around the various options for integrated training in the US, im in the process of renevating my house which will give me the equity! and found the westwind school in arizona which on the face of it sounded quite good, training / job as an instructor on completion / build up flight time to 1000hrs while attending a local uni to complete an aviation degree while building up flight time!

All sounds too good on the face of it, what's people's thought's, is there anyone on here that's done an integrated course in the US, stayed on as an instructor / done a degree (is it required??) built up flight time etc and then returned to the UK after 2-3yrs and been succesfull? also what's the state of play with job's in the US as this company are quoting 40% off all Pilot's will retire within the next 10yrs is this true? are there more job oppertunities in the US than UK (before you say it i know it's a bigger place)

Any comments appreciated

Cheers.

Will.

Simon_Sez
22nd Jan 2005, 21:58
Hi Will,

Hope the renovating is going well, I know it can be a nightmare. But, as you say, the increase in revenue is a nice return :D

In regards to your own situation, just be careful at taking statements like "instructors job on completion" etc as gospel. Unless you have this as a formal job offer before you start your training (of which there is ZERO possibility, I would imagine), you're definitely not guaranteed an instructor's job.