View Full Version : Changing careers

SierraMikeMike
5th Jan 2005, 06:47
Hi guys,

I hope i'm posting this in the right forum. To cut a long story short, i'm a 28 yo financial consultant residing in the UAE, i have finally made up my mind to stop living a few feet off the ground and do (or at least try to) what i want in this life, any hint to what is that? :P

Since i live in this region, i'd like to know what is the best track towards becomin an airline pilot here, not only getting an ATPL but actually securing a job...

I would really appreciate any help in that. I truly need it.

Thanx....

Foreign Worker
5th Jan 2005, 09:49
This has got to be a wind up, right?
You would have to have rocks in your head to be considering going down that track, SMM.

This "profession" (of airline flying) is on the highway to Hell.
But, if you're really convinced that that's the way you want to go, then spread your legs, bend over, and touch your toes.

You've been out in the sun too long, my boy.

Shake
5th Jan 2005, 11:10
SMM:

Just in case you are serious:

Get as much info as you can from either the GCAA or perhaps the Dubai Flying Club to see where you stand before you part with any money. The first thing I would recommend is a medical to ensure that you can hold a Class 1 which you will need to be a pilot.

Depending on the outcome of this and the advice from the GCAA/flying school I should imagine that you would have several options:

As a UAE national you could apply for a cadetship with Emirates. This would be difficult to obtain but definately worth a try. Other airlines offer limited sponsorships but these are rare and often the first victims of the accountants.