PDA

View Full Version : VB Smooth Landing Kings

Time Bomb Ted
30th Dec 2004, 07:27
After spending the last 4 years flying QF everywhere, (approx 180 flights per year) I've just flown VB to Launy and back for Xmas for a change. Boy you guys sure know how to land. All were as smooth as a baby's behind with the last on into BN attracting applause by the pax.

Are you on some sort of smooth landing bonus or something? QF pilot's tend to throw the thing at the ground and don't miss, where VB grease it on.

I don't bring it up lightly, but as a Grade 1 Instructor, I'm impressed.

Well Done.

TBT

Mr.Buzzy
30th Dec 2004, 09:17
I have to say that its been a long time since I've seen a bad QF landing whilst waiting to line up. :ok:

bbbbbzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzbbbbbzzzzzzzzzzzz

swh
30th Dec 2004, 09:18
Time Bomb Ted,

I think you will find since QF1 at BKK they have strict parameters in which to land, i think between 1000-2000 ft markers, outside that and its a recorded event.

And Dj use their head and say why do we need to land by the 2000 ft marker if you have a 3.5 km long runway and the conditions are right.

:ok:

Ibex
30th Dec 2004, 09:22
Somehow I think you may be thrashing for a large wind up of the music box.

Mr.Buzzy
30th Dec 2004, 09:22
Awwww Jeeeez.... here we go!

bbbzbbzzzzzzzzzzzzbbbbbbzzzzzzzz

dirtylittlefokker
30th Dec 2004, 12:10
Ibex, may I be the first to wind up your motorola.

The landing is how we are judged.

The last 10 inches are all that count to Mr and Mrs Bevan. (and Time Bomb Ted (Mrs probably enjoys the last 10 inches most)) It is relatively easy if you have a light 737 and 3000 m plus of runway.

Try landing a heavy regional jet on a runway which is 1500 m long, ungrooved, wet, 30 m wide, with a crosswind. Or a 747 on any runway.

No prizes for smooth landings there, mate!!