PDA

View Full Version : Amount of people in training at the mo

Gillespie
16th Dec 2004, 18:25
This is not a question, more of a statement/observation.

I've been training for quite a while now (on and off since 1999) and I'm almost finished (trying to do it without a loan).

It's only recently that I've found myself getting really angry when people say "oh you're a student pilot, I know so and so who's doing that".

It really p:mad: es me off when I hear about the number of people in training now. Everyone seems to know someone who's training or going to.

My point is this: research shows that there are about 350/400 ish jobs every year for pilots. Last year (this is approximate - Im too angry to check the SRG website) 1,500 people sat the ATPL exams. It feels as though I've paid a hideous amount of money to be in a god damn Lottery. HSBC seem to be giving out loans like chocolate bicsuits.

God damn it I'm angry. Can someone say something that's going to make me feel better about the 30odd grand I've spent and 6 years working my arse off?

Boeing Freighter
16th Dec 2004, 20:02
" It feels as though I've paid a hideous amount of money to be in a god damn Lottery. "

I am sure there are many people who feel that way ,you arent the only one .

Also , an airline might notice how much time/work/money you put into getting this far , and maybe it'll be an advantage ?

Hope that helps :)

Calum

Pilot Pete
16th Dec 2004, 21:22
Gillespie

Be careful your attitude does not transfer into your job search. It raises a few observations which may be detrimental;

1. Why do you let it get to you, it's always been this way?
2. Why didn't you do your research before training and realise what you would be up against?
3. Other people's ease or not of getting bank loans should not concern you........making sure your investment was worthwhile should.