PDA

View Full Version : I'm just starting out, what should i do?

wannab89
12th Dec 2004, 19:59
hi

I want to become a commercial pilot and don't know much about how to.
I am coming up to the part of my life when i have to make choices about what i want to do. A levels

I have no previous flying experience except a breif lessons at work experience but i am going to start gliding soon and hopefully next summer start training for a ppl.

The only real ways of becoming a pilot for me is getting a sponsorship or the RAF as i my parents couldn't afford self sponsorship.

I was wondering if you could give me some advice on what i should do to be appealing to the prospective employers what qualifications etc.

I would be really thankful for any help

Cheers
Jamie

Willy Miller
13th Dec 2004, 10:01
Have you applied for an RAF flying schorarship?

You don't have to be a cadet, just walk into your local CIO and ask about it.

Good luck!

Regards

WM

Timeout
13th Dec 2004, 10:21
Unfortunately, you do now have to be an ATC cadet to be awarded a RAF Flying Scholarship.

I was awarded an RAF Flying Scholarship back in 1999, and I was not an ATC cadet. However, the rules have now changed. If I'm correct they only offer 10 hour scholarships now.

The Guild of Air Pilots and Air Navigators (www.gapan.org) offer full PPL sponsorship. I was awarded full PPL sponsorship from the Guild, and I can highly recommend them. They should be advertising shortly for the 2005 applicants.

The Air League also offer partial sponsorship.

Good luck.

wannab89
13th Dec 2004, 17:47
thanks for the advice. what do you need to be awarded one of these scholarships?

boeingbus2002
13th Dec 2004, 21:46
You are doing the right thing by "immersing" yourself in the industry...gliding..ATC (if you decide). Its all character building stuff too..which is brownie points in an interview situation.