PDA

View Full Version : Unbelievable newbie questions

Milhouse
2nd Nov 2004, 16:12
Dear all,

Just trying to get some advice from those in the know. Basically my story is like this:

Got 1st in maths from uni, was really up for becoming a trader in the city. Went to a shedload of interviews (quite a few final rounds) but never quite clinched anything. Now I'm considering other options, and reckon being an airline pilot sounds rather good. Personality-wise I reckon I'm quite well suited, especially since being a pilot doesn't require you to be an absolute aggressive mofo (as being a trader does). Unfortunately, I have no flying experience other than a few goes on Microsofts flight sim.

I've had a look at a few websites and it still appears that the industry is in a post-9/11 glut. I'm currently filling in the CTC application form, but thought it best get some ideas from you knowledgeable people first.

Also, FYI, given my degree and the shedload of sporting/work/extra-curricular experience I have, I reckon I've got the intelligence and other 'soft' skills to get in. The only lacking area I have is the techincal side....in particular finding the CTC question "what attributes will be important to pilots in the future" question difficult without writing bs waffle.

...failing this, I'll be off to become an accountant! HELP!

Paulscho
2nd Nov 2004, 16:40
You could go down the route of becoming an airline pilot, but is this what you really want to do for the rest of your life or are you happy been an accountant as a second choice??
I think most pilots are where they are because they have a love for aviation. I fall into that category and am waiting to start my first job and can't wait.
If you are bright, you can pass all the exams and learn to fly.
Good luck.

BongleBear
2nd Nov 2004, 17:03