PDA

View Full Version : Problem

captain111
23rd Oct 2004, 15:09
Dear all,

I am in a bit of a problem. In fact I'm in a serious problem and was wondering if anyone could help me or give me some words of wisdom.

I have just started at Oxford University reading Music. Even though I am pretty good at Music my first love has always been flying and I have always had a burning ambition to become a pilot.

I'm sure you are wondering why therefore I am reading a music degree (you wouldn't be the first). Essentially I always had a dream to study at Oxford and the only way this could be achieved was through studying Music. Although I studied both Physics and Economics to A-level I was never going to be clever enough to study either at Oxford and so Music was the obvious choice. The problem is that I am finding both the course extremely tedious and completely off the point as to what I want to eventually do.

Clearly the obvious answer to the problem would be to leave but unfortunately it doesn't seem to be so simple.

Firstly, if I were to leave would I regret giving up what could in so many respects be a great experience? Although at the moment I would love to leave I am worried that emotion is clouding my thoughts and a few months down the line I might realise that I made a serious misjudgement.
Secondly, it is quite clear that at the moment the job market is not looking great and therefore would having a degree be a good backup tool?

On a slightly different point, I have been thinking about changing courses. Does anybody have any experience of the Air Transport Operations course at City University? Does it really affect your chances of employment and would it be a worthwhile degree to have if for whatever reason a career as a pilot was not possible?

Any thoughts and comments would be greatly appreciated.

A very worried and confused wannabe :uhoh:

B727-200
23rd Oct 2004, 16:42
Captain 111,

Please check your PM's.