PDA

View Full Version : Met question

Foz2
23rd Oct 2004, 11:02
Hi,

Struggling to understand this one, any help would be appreciated.

A parcel of air that is cooling by more than 1 deg/100m is said to be?

A) Conditionally Stable
B)Conditionally unstable
C) Unstable
D)Stable

The answer given is unstable. If a parcel of air is cooling at that rate surely it is stable as it is getting colder quicker than the SALR and the DALR. Should the question not read ' If the ELR is greater than 1deg/100m the environment is said to be?' It is asking about that particular parcel of air - I didnt think the environment was classed as a parcel of air?

Thanks in advance

Foz.

AndyDRHuddleston
23rd Oct 2004, 14:05
Hi Foz,

I'm studying met aswell at the moment, but in a much sunnier, Florida!

My initial reaction to the question is that you would need to know the ELR to be able to establish if its stable or unstable. Even if the question assumes the standard 2 degrees / 1000 ft that would make the answer stable, as the equivalent rate of cooling is 3.04 degrees / 1000 ft for your parcel of air.

I'd query that one with your instructor, let me know the answer, because as far as I'm concerned you need to know the true ELR.

Hope that helps you in some way

Andy

EGBKFLYER
23rd Oct 2004, 18:26
Not a very clearly worded question I reckon.

1C/100m is the ELR and is just more than 3C/1000', which is the DALR.

The parcel of air, assuming it isn't saturated, will cool at the DALR. At any given height, it will be warmer than its surroundings, and so will continue to rise - giving the answer as 'unstable'

The word 'parcel' generally indicates you should consider heating/ cooling as adiabatic, meaning the parcel is cooling at either of the Dry or Saturated rates and being compared to the environment cooling at the ELR.