PDA

View Full Version : What do i need to do to succeed?

MissManchester
4th Oct 2004, 17:03
I graduated from uni (geography degree - 2.1) in June, since then been working at man airport on check in for experience of working in an airport environment. I had a second interview for ATC in July...but failed. (no feedback) Had an interview the other week for bA cabin crew citiexpress....failed! (again no feedback) All i have ever wanted to do is work in the airport...but despite what im doing, im not having much success elsewhere! Anyone got any graduate positions to suggest? Or other ways of getting into ATC (coz thats what i really wanna do). Any info will be much appreciated!

TRon
4th Oct 2004, 17:10
I heard they ATC to take people second time round so dont dispel that one.

There are loads of jobs at the airport. Despatchingi s one way to get close to the aircraft, although you will be treated like crap by your employers, and generally not appreciated.

I always try to make an effort to thank desptcheers as I know what a difficult job it is.

Do you want to fly, as te CTC Wings scheme might be an option?

MissManchester
4th Oct 2004, 19:20
whats the CTC scheme?

CAT3C AUTOLAND
4th Oct 2004, 19:56
There is loads about the CTC scheme here, may be worth doing a search.

You may want to post in the ATC forum if thats what you really want to do. I am sure someone there will be able to give you some sound advice. However, I am no pro on this but I am sure the only way you will get a job as an ATCO is to get accepted by NATS for the training at Bournemouth.

How about going for your FISO licence? Just a thought.

Good luck.

MissManchester
5th Oct 2004, 14:17
whats a fiso license?

PPWannaBe
5th Oct 2004, 18:10
If you wanna get into ATC suggest you gen up on who they are and what they do. There is some good books available as an introduction and in preperation for the various test, do a search under Air Traffic Control on Amazon.