PDA

View Full Version : First leap into networking!!

BoeingBoy
20th Sep 2004, 20:53
Hi All, (again)

Thanks for the answers to the thread related to networking via the mains. I have now ordered broadband from BT and await my free modem et al.

However I now look to setup a wireless network with the two desktops and the lappy sharing the broadband connection via a combined router and modem.

So my question is basically if I have an 802.11g PCI wireless card in both PC's, and the 802.11b WiFi card in the Lappy. Am I OK to just connect a Belkin combined router/modem midway between the two on the first house bound socket with the filter on that inlet.

I am totally new to networking and have read so many threads about problems caused by wireless problems that I expect my life to go seriously chest up in the next few weeks.

If all I can do is get mutual internet connection then that will do, but it would be nice to set up a sharing network aswell. I am running WinXP home on all machines with SP2 installed.

I note that SP2 gives network and WiFi set up wizards in control panel, is it worth me using these?

Yours, frightened of new technology boundaries, BB:bored:

mikedurward
20th Sep 2004, 21:17
Hiya BB,

If you have not bought any wireless equipment yet, try a netgear dg834g. It is a combined BB Moden, Router, Switch and 54Mb wireless connection. It is so simple to set up tos frightening. This will share your BB connection with anything that is connected to it. I bought mine from www.misco.co.uk and got a free usb2 adapter for the old lappy. So all in all cost £104 inclding VAT and delivery.
Great Product.

Mike

Ausatco
21st Sep 2004, 00:23
G'day BB,

I think your scheme sounds fine. I think you said in a post on another thread that you had a large house, 2 storey perhaps?