PDA

View Full Version : Advice

R T Jones
19th Sep 2004, 20:08
Im 16 and doin my a levles. Simple quiestion is do you recomend me going to get my ppl before i finish my a levels. And if yes, what flight schools do u recomend.

LondonJ
19th Sep 2004, 20:29
I started training for my PPL after my GCSE's and it took just under a year. This meant I ended up doing a lot of theory around the time of my AS's. I didn't find it massively difficult because I was interested in the flying subjects and so it didn't feel like lots of extra work. I did the flying on the weekends and it was roughly an hour a week, which spreads out quite comfortably. If you have the resources and determination then I say go for it.

Whereabout do you live in London? probably easier to recommend schools once it's clear which airfields you live close to.

R T Jones
19th Sep 2004, 20:32
north london, about 10 mins drive from M11 and M25. I am doing maths, physics, geography and IT. I would relish the chance to do an hours flying a week, but do u do the ground study at the air field or on your own?

ChocksAwayUK
19th Sep 2004, 21:35
I did a PPL at The Pilot Centre, Denham, North West London and highly recommend it. Very nice little friendly school with good instructors. I did an hour or so a week and had it done in a year.

Most ground study is done on your own but instructors are always willing to go through stuff with in the classroom... especially if you're waiting for the weather to improve etc.

http://www.egld.com/tpc/

Pilot16
19th Sep 2004, 22:44
Hi, R T Jones,

I did exactly what London J did,

I started flying streight after I finished my GCSE's, flew in the weekends as I did my AS Levels. I also did the theory exams with the AS Levels, just like LondonJ, I didnt find it too difficult to cope as I enjoyed everything!

Got my PPL at 17. Now finished my A-Levels, 18 and doing ATPLs in the gap year.

If you have the will and determination, go for it. :)

R T Jones
19th Sep 2004, 23:09