PDA

View Full Version : Warbird flying

MackMeeter
14th Sep 2004, 10:40
Hello All,

Out of all the forums this seems to be the most likely one to answer my simple questions, but forgive me if I'm a tad wide of the mark by being here.....

How do you get to fly the warbird aircraft, or any other classic type for that matter?

I've been a classic aircraft anorak for years and I've always been embarrassed to ask anybody I see in museums which have airworthy examples.

I'm a commercial pilot flying turbo-props, but quite low down on the greasy career pole - however I'm curious to know if:

a) I ever have a chance of flying these beautiful aircraft.

b) If so, what I need to do to get there.

Having spent the last few years getting my career on track, I'd like to be able to enjoy myself and have some fun, without the pressures of the job.

I've got a sneaky suspicion that only ex-service pilots get to have all the fun (no change there then). This I can appreciate with the fast jets but what about the rest?

Any advice will be gratefully received.

Cheers

MM :ok:

JDK
16th Sep 2004, 15:07
Last first.

There's quite a few pilots of (British) warbirds who don't have military experiencce. High discipline flying (aerobatics etc) does seem to be a feature, and organisations like Shuttleworth are VERY selective.

However, a general question when you are wandering about places like DX might seem crashing, but usually gets a useful answer! Just don't ask THEM for a job, keep it general.

Lending a hand with the tough and boring hands on work is also useful with these organisations, pilots who muck in are much more popular.

Hope this helps,
Cheers

MLS-12D
16th Sep 2004, 15:54
You might want to review this thread (http://www.pprune.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=90170&highlight=warbird).