PDA

View Full Version : Computer keeps "re-booting"

GARDENER
8th Aug 2004, 18:09
Firstly can I ask that any answers are in "simple" form. Be gentle with me this is my first build!
Problem is:
Computer fires up gets to a screen where it apologizes and gives me a few options which are as follows.

Safe mode
Safe mode with networking
Safe mode with command prompts
Last known config
Start windows normally

I can try any of the above but the outcome is the same....quick flash of a blue screen and then it restarts.

The system:
Motherboard: ASRock K7S8XE
Processor: AMD Athlon 2500+
Memory: 1 stick PC3200 512mb
Graphics card: 128mb MX4000 XFX
Windows XP pro

Any other info required please ask. Any ideas would be most appreciated. If you would like any of the components listed the PC will be exiting the upstairs window of my home at approximately 2300hrs descending rapidly .....the address is 15 The Square......Thanks

Saab Dastard
8th Aug 2004, 18:25
When you say this is your first build, do you mean that you have assembled the PC yourself?

If so, how well did you research compatability of graphics card with mobo? Check mobo & video manfr. wesites for any compatability problems. Check if there are any drivers or BIOS upgrades available and install them.

Are you overclocking?

Have you disabled on-board graphics (if any) in BIOS if you are using an add-on video card?

It does sound like a video card problem - where did you get the drivers for it? Ensure they are correct and up to date

Have you tried re-installing the operating system from CD - if you have no data or applications, re-format and re-install.

Note all the BIOS settings and trying re-setting to factory defaults.

If you have another video card (or on-board graphics) try running that.

SD

Oh yes, can I have the memory and video card when you chuck em out the window? ;)

Naples Air Center, Inc.
8th Aug 2004, 20:15
GARDENER,