PDA

View Full Version : What next?

Gyro drifter
5th Aug 2004, 06:04
Hey guys

Ive been looking through various forums on pprune concerning the first job topic for fresh CPLs. I myself will be finished my training up to CPL in a couple of months and was just wondering on how the industry is at, at the moment. My intention is to start off in the GA sector gain some time on SE and then hopefully graduate to ME. I however still have a year of University left where im doing a degree in aviation. I will probably finish the degree first before moving away and also in that year complete ATPL subjects so i leave with frozen ATPL and i dont have to worry about it later. I also have access to a British passport and i have read in other posts that if you are able to work in Europe it is much more streamline path into the airlines.

Id appreciate any comment on this subject.

Gyro

HEALY
6th Aug 2004, 11:25
The first thing with regards to getting your CPL goodluck. Use the next two months to get to know more about the company you are at and the possibilities of any work. Although I dont know where you are flying (Odds are with a large school at the end of the road) find out first hand from anyone who has just started work or in the process of job hunting.

Do not do any additional/unnecessary ratings unless you are going to need them. Having an Instructor rating does open the door to a few companies but as it has been stressed on here many times, only Instruct if you want to instruct.

The job front is very competitive and people go to any lengths to make themselves more employable or get known to the powers to be. There are jobs out there if you are willing to a) travel b) work for little money or c) fly in some trying places. I stress this is not always the case but be prepared. CPL training is only the beginning to learning how GA works.