PDA

View Full Version : Becoming A Pilot - Some Adivce Needed Please

Martin384
15th Jul 2004, 14:25
Firstly, can I just apologise if this is in the wrong section - I'm just hoping that as many professional pilots as possible will read this as I am looking for some advice with regard to becoming a commercial pilot myself. Can I also just say that I am not one of those 'dreamers' who have more of a chance going to the moon than becoming a pilot (I'm sure a lot of people say that as well!:p ).

I'm a 20 year old student from Glasgow and I will be entering my fourth and final year of a geography and politics degree course at university in September. I originally wanted to be a teacher and I know that some of you, as a result of this, may question the extent to which I want to be a pilot but the truth is it's something I've wanted to do from a young age - it's just that I thought it was out of my reach - something that would be too difficult to achieve. However, with only one year left at uni, a big part of me wants to go for it but I really want to know if I'm going to be capable enough to become a commercial pilot as I don't want to waste my time or indeed that of an airline. The fact is, I already have a considerable amount of debt as a result of student loans etc and to be honest I don't want to go down the route of self-funding etc. So my aim, should I decide to take the plunge, would be to try and secure sponsorship from an airline (British Airways is the only one I know of that offers individuals this opportunity - are there any others?:confused: ).