PDA

View Full Version : Gyroplane longstab

Genghis the Engineer
13th Jul 2004, 20:32
Just interested if anybody else has a view on this.

The new draft of BCAR Section T (the UK safety requirements for Gyroplanes up to 650kg) crossed my desk the other day. Most of the changes are pretty uncontentious - one might even say sensible, but one worried me a bit.

There is a re-write of the apparent longitudinal static stability requirements. Basically what it now says is that the speed/control slope has got to be continuously positive or zero - and that the most critical factor is stick displacement, which is considered much more important (and more measurable) that stick force.

I fully accept that I'm not a gyroplane expert, but like to feel that I've a nodding acquaintance with handling qualities in general. This requirement just doesn't make sense to me - firstly it would accept zero force / zero displacement per airspeed change in pitch - all my FW experience tells me that's unnecessarily putting pilot workload right up. Secondly, all my flying experience - in anything - tells me that pilots sense control force first, and position a low second (just look at the F16 for example). So why the reliance upon control displacement in preference to force?

Or is my lack of practical experience of gyroplanes causing me to miss something here?

G

Shawn Coyle
14th Jul 2004, 13:45
Genghis:
Great question. Made me think for a minute or two...
Lots of helicopters have neutral longitudinal static stability in autorotation, and yet are reasonably easy to fly, and will even maintain airspeed once established. So this isn't a new issue as far as handling goes.
I understand the FARs are going to change to allow neutral statics in more cases than they do now, but not exactly sure what is going to change.
The reason the position is allowed over force is probably because the displacements are probably pretty large, and would be noticeable.