PDA

View Full Version : A340 flap setting 2


Gonzo
19th Jun 2004, 10:08
We had a 340 return to LHR yesterday with flaps locked at setting 2. Can anyone tell me what difference that would make in the landing speed? It didn't look too bad out the window. It requested 27R (300m longer than 27L), but I believe did not land above max landing weight (airborne for maybe three hours in total)

Also, would you call a PAN for this?

Preppy
20th Jun 2004, 09:50
Also, would you call a PAN for this?
For a partial flap landing, due slat/flap malfunction, I would not. It's not a big deal operationally!

However, if the cause of the flap failure was due to (for instance) a hydraulic failure, then probably "yes."

Bernd Podhradsky
20th Jun 2004, 14:07
Hi!

How can the flaps be locked after being airborne for three hours? Did they move due to hydraulic problems or where they not retracted?

Bernd

spannersatcx
20th Jun 2004, 14:13
Time taken for dumping fuel!

Gonzo
20th Jun 2004, 16:45
Thanks Preppy, that's what I thought.

SMOC
21st Jun 2004, 11:33
From QRH

With SLATS and FLAPS at Conf 2, App speed VREF + 5 and Landing Dist X 1.1 so fairly normal.