PDA

View Full Version : Who's At Fault

cyclic flare
16th Jun 2004, 12:08
A friend of mine was parked on the fuel pumps at his local airfield in his R22 when a gazelle flew behind him. There was quite a strong wind (20k) and he was down wind of the gazelle with his rotor's / engine stopped.

The downwash of the gazelle made the R22's blade slap down into the tail boom and cause a dent which is just within the manufacturer's limits.

The Gazelle pilot says he's not at fault because he was far enough away from the aircraft and landed on the "H" next to the R22 as instructed by ATC.

I know my thoughts maybe the Flying Lawyer could put us straight.

Capt Hollywood
16th Jun 2004, 12:41
In my humble opinion the Gazelle pilot is at fault as he is the pilot in command and as such is ultimately responsible for his downwash and the effect it may have on objects on the ground.

Then again I'm no lawyer!

Hollywood :cool:

SilsoeSid
16th Jun 2004, 13:14
IMHO,

Plainly the Gazelle pilot was not "far enough away", whatever the circumstances may be.

The Gaz pilot must have realised he was upwind and in a 20 kt wind should have routed accordingly. A little thing called airmanship I believe.

Just because ATC gave clearance doesn't make Gaz guy right.

At the risk of sounding flippant, if ATC cleared him to the 'H' and there wasn't enough room, would he carry on until the inevitable happened and still claimed he was in the right?

I don't think so!

SS.

Heliport
16th Jun 2004, 13:37
I don't disagree with the general principle in the opinions above.

Just a couple of questions -

(1) I'm not familiar with R22 procedures, but ..... Wouldn't it have been good practice to have the rotor brake engaged if the wind was 20 kts?

Assume for the purpose of the next question that the R22 pilot was sitting in his helicopter at the time. (It's a small world. ;) )

(2) "There was quite a strong wind (20k) and he was down wind of the gazelle."