PDA

View Full Version : Which Type Rating?

dickon
6th Jun 2004, 09:50
On my never ending research on how to get into the corporate world while still being a low time pilot, I have recently been informed that the instructors ratings are NOT more attractive to an employer than a type rating, which you can probably get for approximately the same training costs.

My question is :- How do you know which type rating to go for?

Will the type rating and still low hours ( tt300 ) really be more attractive than a load of instructor hours, and no type rating?

Cheers guys, any opinions are much appreciated!

:ok:

G-SPOTs Lost
6th Jun 2004, 10:13
Whats the problem with instructing?

1 or 2 seasons instructing will tremendously increase your stick & rudder skills (please dont be so arrogant as to say that it wont because with the greatest amount of respect due you arn't experienced enough to realise!)

I might suggest that a lot of operators may also have some sort of affiliation with a flying school, it might be an idea to instruct as much as poss for the experience and hours and project yourself as somebody who has a good amount of common sense and that you have the sort of personality that an older captain can put up with for a few days somewhere where their isn't much happening. By doing this you may be able to get some RHS work in something single crew like a CJ or an older CItation 1 or 2.

The other big problem you will ahve is obtaining a type rating. You may well struggle getting employment/insurance if your type rating isnt from Flightsafety or Simuflite in fact I have a quote here from a Flightsafety E mail I have which reads

he exceeds the FSI requirement of 1000 hours

So it may be that you arn't going to get a type rating until you are a little more experienced anyway. No doubt somebody somewhere will take your money of you.

Just a question, are you considering corporate because you can't get an airline job?

Miles Magister
6th Jun 2004, 11:07
Dickon,