PDA

View Full Version : B747 Firebomber- What the .....

wessex19
4th Jun 2004, 05:32
Watching SBS news last night in a half awake state and thought I was dreaming when I saw a Evergreen International B747 classic conducting firebombing runs!! Went to there website today and confirmed it wasn't a dream. Comments Jumbo drivers..
http://www.evergreenaviation.com/supertanker/index.html

Woomera
4th Jun 2004, 05:37
Yup. Covered on Sky News as well.

100,000 liters capacity - ten times the capacity of "Elvis" the Sky Crane!!! :ok:

Woomera

Buster Hyman
4th Jun 2004, 06:09
The mind can only wonder at the stresses involved on the airframe. Now, I'm no structural expert by any stretch of the imagination, but after seeing the footage of that C130 coming apart....:ugh:

cascade07
4th Jun 2004, 06:23
Hope they're quick on re-trimming the plane after dropping that much water....:eek:

NAMPS
4th Jun 2004, 08:17
I was looking at the Evergreen website link...I'm glad I wasn't the guy taking the photo from underneath the a/c while it was beginning it's 'bombing run'!!

phat boy
4th Jun 2004, 10:21
I'm glad I wasn't the guy taking the photo from underneath the a/c while it was beginning it's 'bombing run'!! YEAH ! ! Me too ! ! ! :rolleyes: Hope they're quick on re-trimming the plane after dropping that much water :rolleyes: :hmm:
One hopes they thought of that already. This is the yanks we're talking about not the indians.

18-Wheeler
4th Jun 2004, 11:49
.... and thirty minutes to get it going as quickly as possible from a cold start, and close to an hour to refuel and get the brakes cool again.
Then find an airport with the appropriate re-watering gear close enough, etc.
With all the manoueverability of a three story building!

Flyingscarecrow
4th Jun 2004, 13:45
Footage of the C-130 coming apart can be found at www.airdisaster.com Not rcommended viewing, i've never been too comfy at low level or in turbulence since! As a side note, the Herc was an ex RAAF C-130A.