PDA

View Full Version : When to go to 1013mb?

Hoover Pilot
14th May 2004, 10:07
Greetings,

I would welcome information as to when pilots change from QNH to 1013mb as part of take off SOPs. MY company has recently changed and I wondered how the SOPs compared with other airlines.

Originally our manuals said "when cleared to a flight level, pilots will set 1013 immeadiately". The problem with this method is that after being cleared to a flight level and then instructed by ATC to "stop climb at 3,000ft" you have to reset QNH quickly.

Our new method is to change to 1013 AT transition exactly. The main problem here is that if held at an intermediate altitude for a long time (not uncommon on the Clacton SIDs in the London TMA) the change to 1013 can get forgotten.

I have no experience of operating in areas with high fixed transition altitudes and just wondered how our SOPs compared with others....

HP

Empty Cruise
14th May 2004, 10:28
TA - if cleared to FL within 1000 ft. above TA, the altimeter is set to 1013 no later than 1000 ft. below TA.

Brgds,
Empty.

BOAC
14th May 2004, 15:05
Small point, but ICAO dictate that the correct setting is 1013.2, not 1013 as many people set, and this is 29.92 exactly, not 29.91. Then you will be on the same setting as the rest of the world :D - in the interests of RVSM, of course! Only around 50ft at high altitude, but we are striving for better height-keeping, are we not?

411A
15th May 2004, 03:59
Well said BOAC...and not just when the check pilot is watching either.:E

In all companies that I have personally flown for, the altimeters were set to 1013.2 AT transition altitude, and not before.

maddog62
15th May 2004, 07:03
I've seen everything about altimeter settings in the military and in the civilian world.
It looks like nobody's got the perfect solution.
What worked for me the best was PF setting 1013.2 when cleared to a FL and PNF when passing transition.

rgds maddog

Captain Airclues
15th May 2004, 09:40