PDA

View Full Version : Career in the RAF.

P51 mustang
5th May 2004, 17:42
It looks like my dream of becoming a pilot is going to be a near impossible task to accomplish due to a lack of cash, so I was thinking about a career with the RAF. I'm currently doing a degree in aerospace engineering but my heart isn't in it. I know that I can never be a pilot in the RAF as I'm short sighted, but I was wondering if anyone could suggest any jobs whereby I'd be in the air on a regular basis. Maybe as a gunner on a SAR helicopter or something.
Yes, I am aware that there's a RAF website but I'd rather prefer first hand information from those "in the know".
All responses will be greatly appreciated.

STANDTO
5th May 2004, 17:49
" a gunner on a SAR helicopter "

Sort of defeats the object, methinks.

There are lots of trades. Only way to find out about them is to start trawling the web. See what floats your boat, then make further enqs with the careers office.

That is, of course, if we still have an Air Force by then

SirToppamHat
5th May 2004, 18:12
Are you sure that the degree of short-sightedness prevents acceptance for pilot? Search the site for info and check.

Short-sightedness shouldn't be a barrier to commercial employment, and there are schemes for a lucky few.

I don't know enough about DE WSO to offer an opinion, but there are plenty on the site that will.

I suspect that joining on the ground (eng?) will ultimately leave you frustrated if flying is your thing, but with a degree in Aeronautical Eng I would think you stand a reasonable chance. Promotion prospects are pretty good as an Eng Officer, and should leave you with cash (and facilities depending on your location) to make flying a hobby.

Fighter Control offers a route for some to crew duties on the E-3D, but can take 3-4 years at the moment because there is no direct entrant scheme for E-3D rear crews.