PDA

View Full Version : CAA Acceptance of IAA ATPL

too_sleepy
29th Apr 2004, 10:43
Hi

Some help on this would be greatly appreciated.
I am currently studying for my ATPL exams in Ireland, under the Irish Aviation Authority. The school is Pan Aviation who are resellers of the Bristol material and are approved to give ATPL trainng in ireland.
Ireland is a JAA member state, so I assumed once my ATPL exams are complete I can travel to the UK to start my commercial training. Some people have mentioned that this might be a problem as I need to complete my training in the same JAA state.
The CAA web site doesn't offer much help. I've emailed them but haven't heard back from them yet.
The question is basically will the CAA accept the IAA issued JAA ATPL exams?

Thanks

Send Clowns
29th Apr 2004, 11:11
Not quite true. You need all of your training to be accepted by the state of licence issue. So if you want the UK to issue your licence, you need to know the CAA will accept your Irish training (I'd make sure to get it in writing first) or if you want the IAA to issue your licence you will have to make sure they will accept your training in the UK (with similar precaution).

Once you have a JAA licence you should be able to have it reissued by whichever state you are in permanently residence or working.

Alex Whittingham
29th Apr 2004, 11:13
The JAA rules say that member states can accept exam passes from other countries, not that they must. I'm fairly certain that the UK CAA will accept IAA passes because they have in the past but it may not work the other way around. The only way to be certain is to ask them. Suggest you try [email protected] if you haven't already.

Canada Goose
29th Apr 2004, 13:05
Mmmmmm.

I've sent a licensing query off to [email protected] and got a reply back saying .......