PDA

View Full Version : Wasting Police Time!

Lukeafb1
29th Apr 2004, 09:37
Three months ago I had a visit from Hampshire Constabulary. I was told that I had been reported for driving away from a petrol station on the M6 in Staffordshire without paying £40.00 for petrol. The garage had my car details correct, but something didn’t ring true. I have been doing the same journey every week for some 10 months and it has now become very routine. I use almost exactly one tank of fuel a week, every week. Oh, by-the-way, the incident was supposed to have happened over 3 months before I was eventually contacted by the police (apparently they had visited my home 6 times in the previous 2 months and couldn’t get an answer)!

Anyway, during the officer’s visit, my wife checked my bank statements for the day in question and lo and behold, I had filled the tank that day, albeit at a garage nearer my home. It would therefore have been absolutely and categorically impossible, for me to have stolen another (full) tank of fuel in the same day. Officer asks for a photocopy of bank statement, tells me it was obviously a mistake, apologises profusely and says I will hear nothing further.

I don’t …….for a further month. Then I have yet another visit. This time, I’m told that the garage (which didn’t have cctv)…. “don’t accept the bank statement and that it must have been you”. Officer says he’s sorry, but his hands are tied. I will therefore have to go into the local police station in Staffordshire and tell them the story. I duly do this and officer tells me that the garage is patently mistaken and he’s sorry to trouble me.