View Full Version : New ILS Commissioning

Tom the Tenor
19th Apr 2004, 17:30
If I may I should like to pose a few questions about the putting in of new ILS systems. I am not technically minded so please forgive me for if my questions are posed in a rough sort of way.

In June the ILS at Cork which is CAT I/II is to be decommissioned for two reasons: (i) The ongoing building work of the new terminal and the new multi-storey car park and (ii) The Irish Aviation Authority wish to use the opportunity to install a new ILS. The present ILS is thirteen years old.

Cork suffers a lot from poor weather due to sea fog and low cloud as Cork is at about 500 feet AMSL. The CAT II availability for approaches has saved Cork from many, many diversions which would have all been lost if Cork had remained at only CAT I.

The IAA say the ILS will be off the air completely from June to August. Now, the rub is that the new CAT II is expected to be down from about six months to a year whilst it is being tested.

Is this normal practice? Would this happen at DUB or LHR?

If so, are there any alternatives to ILS available for low visibility approaches at a field like Cork where the weather can be regularly below CAT I minima?

Thank you. A big hello from Cork! :)

DFC
21st Apr 2004, 08:49
It's at times like that when everyone wishes that they hadn't got rid of the PAR.

The exact reasons for having the system off air may not be as simple as it first seems.

Having replaced the equipment and checked it from the ground, it is a requirement to complete flight testing using calibrator aircraft. I don't know who the IAA have contracted to do the calibraton but it is probably the former CAA unit located at Teesside.

Making a booking will of course be subject to the calibrator having an available slot. It also makes sense to have the Cork calibration done at a time when the aircraft is already in Ireland doing another job.