PDA

View Full Version : Say Goodbye To The Cdu


747FOCAL
15th Apr 2004, 17:30
The A380 and 7E7 will not have a CDU and will use a "windows" type interface for inputs.

One more to go Blue Screen......:E


Anybody else heard this?

Approach_plate
15th Apr 2004, 18:07
Thats reasuring. Here are some images I found

http://www.briandulany.com/images/microsoft/airport.jpg

http://www.briandulany.com/images/funny/concorde.jpeg

http://www.briandulany.com/images/funny/new_microsoft_keyboard.jpg

ATC Watcher
15th Apr 2004, 21:09
I like the microsoft emergency mouse pictured above :ok:

But not only Bill gatesīs product are prone to bugs:

A friend of mine just bought a brand new BMW 6 series which now comes equipped with a rolling ball to make various inputs . he played with the thing without reading the manual ( as thick as a bible ) and got stuck , had to go back to the garage and they kept the car 2 days as no-one there could fix the thing...

I remember a Martinair 767 diverting to Boston some years ago using only the 3 small analogs things....(They never found what really happenned I was told...)

and I will not go into early days A320 stories.;)

chuks
16th Apr 2004, 07:42
At work I was faced with jumping from a Twin Otter to a glass cockpit, with all of its attendant 'What is it doing now?' moments. It is possible to be given too much information at once, even if you fancy yourself as the World's Greatest Pilot. Go figure....

Meanwhile, back at the hacienda, Her Indoors ordered a new coffee machine, an Italian state-of-the-art one. €1 200 or so, a mere snip.

When it finally came in I went down and picked it up. The guy in the shop said he would come over and show me how to use it, when I just gave a little tinkling laugh and told him that Captain Chuks wouldn't be needing any help with a cute little coffee machine after mastering a glass cockpit, thank you very much!

In front of the children (always a mistake this, but I never learn) I unpacked it, plugged it in and then gave the instructions a brief glance. 'Look, children, this thing can display user menus in German, French, Italian, English and Japanese! What a laugh!'

So we set it to Japanese. Then we couldn't get it out of Japanese, ultimately putting it out of sequence or something, so that it had to go back to the distributor twice for psychiatric counselling or whatever.

Good luck to the first lot of guys who have to operate with this new stuff using trackballs and whatnot, say I.

Approach_plate
16th Apr 2004, 09:30
So we set it to Japanese. Then we couldn't get it out of Japanese, ultimately putting it out of sequence or something, so that it had to go back to the distributor twice for psychiatric counselling or whatever.

I used that trick on one of the guys in work. He is one of these who has to have the latest mobile phone. So come April 1st, he left it at his desk to nip to the loo. So I got the phone, found the language menu and swithced it to Japaneese and pressed a few buttons. It took him 3 days to figure it out.

SSC
16th Apr 2004, 09:44
Trackballs in turbulence should be interesting.

Can you make your icons bigger? (Or apply a nice 'theme')?

Will you be able to customise the sounds and alerts?

What sort of screen savers do you get?:E

Ascend Charlie
16th Apr 2004, 10:29
Can't wait for the first "Flying High" sequence to happen, when some pimply kid hacks into the computer of an airborne 7E7 and plays games with it, flies it through the Eiffel Tower etc.

And the bored Second Officer on a trans-Pacific flight who finds a porn site with his FMS and the Captain wonders why the aircraft keeps turning towards suckmytits.com :)

Charly
16th Apr 2004, 12:27
For the "DESCENT PERF" Page:

As a background music, Iīd set the movie theme from "Das Boot".

:}