PDA

View Full Version : Major cock-up

7th Apr 2004, 12:00
Yet again, I've heard a radio DJ refering to "Major" Charles Ingram. Surely it should be "Ex Major", or "That cheating [email protected]".

Why does this convicted cheat, liar and insurance fraudster get so much television coverage?

Jerricho
7th Apr 2004, 12:04
Because, as always, the average British media consumer has a very short memory of both facts and history.

tony draper
7th Apr 2004, 12:34
I thought Army officers retained their Title and were allowed to call themselves by their rank even after they left the services and become window cleaners and such.
:rolleyes:

eal401
7th Apr 2004, 12:41
I believe they can. When I worked in a shop years ago, there was a retired naval officer who came in regularly. He had "Lt Cmdr" and "Ret." fore and aft (haha :rolleyes: ) of his name on his cheque book & card.

DuckDodgers
7th Apr 2004, 13:23
Persons who reach the rank of Major, Major RM, Lt Cdr RN or Sqn Ldr are entitled to utilise this on retirement. Note, many ex-RN Lt Cdrs were on the GL system so were never actually promoted BUT advanced!!

chippy63
7th Apr 2004, 13:35
You seem to see a number of army captains using the rank after they have left, eg Mark Phillips, but you never seem to see RN or RAF types using their equivalent rank.

Mr Chips
7th Apr 2004, 13:46
Have to disagree Chippy (are we related?) i have met many retired Wing Commanders who use their old rank/title..

big 'tache is usually a big enough clue though!!!

Big Tudor
7th Apr 2004, 14:17
Indeed. I recall examining many ID cards with the words Wg Cdr (retd) or Gp Cpt (retd).

Wasn't Mark Phillips given some exception to allow him to retain his army rank since he was married to HRH?

I can think of many cheaters & liars that get more media coverage than old coughing boy.

maninblack
7th Apr 2004, 14:18
I'll do some sniffing and check the form.

Certainly Captains and above are allowed to use the title.

HomerJay
7th Apr 2004, 14:53