PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol - God's Gift, or the Devil's Drink?

BlueWolf
30th Mar 2004, 10:36
Prooners!

What say you of alcohol? We all know it, some more intimately than others. Western Civilisation is awash in a sea of it. We're teethed with it, weaned on it, we grow up surrounded by it; we aspire to it, we celebrate it, we celebrate with it. It anchors and lubricates our society, levels social barriers, and for many of us, facilitates the rite of passage to adulthood. It maketh merry the hearts of men, it has the ability to banish care.

But at the same time....alcohol is a dark brew, seething with wickedness and illcontent; it turns men into monsters, destroys their good characters, breaks marriages, ruins lives, ends careers, blights children.

A numerical majority of PPRuNers - English speaking ones at least - are probably accompanied by C2H5OH as they browse and type.

I have a biased opinion; I make wine for a living. However, despite what Davaar may have inferred from a light-hearted comment in another thread, I'm not drunk all the time, nor do I have any desire to be.

What do we really think of alcohol?

Cheers...

Kolibear
30th Mar 2004, 11:01
"Promotes the desire but takes away the performance"

Shakespeare

eal401
30th Mar 2004, 11:29
God's gift if used properly.

Therefore, a few pints of real ale savoured on a summer's eve or a nice bottle of red wine shared with a loved one = God's Gift.

Or, 15 pints of Stella tossed down your neck on a Friday night, followed by a kebab and a brawl over a taxi = The Devil's Drink.

Elwood Senese
30th Mar 2004, 11:36
"Here's to alcohol: the source of, and answer to, all of life's problems."

Homer Simpson

G-ALAN
30th Mar 2004, 11:53