PDA

View Full Version : FI scared of turbulence!

yellowvestman
30th Mar 2004, 07:42
I am a flying instructor with around 1000 hours flight time, and recently I have found myself getting tense and stressed about bumpy weather, I am talking about moderate/mild chop and thermals.

I know that my edginess has affected one student and I want to put a stop to it.

What kind of factors contribute to this sort of thing?

I have previously dealt with students fears about being flipped upside down or thrown about. This is the sort of issue you get over some time during your PPL, not something that hits you with 750 plus P1 hours!

As soon as the wind gets above about 15 knots, or it is thermally, that is it, I find I am covering the controls, and generally feeling uncomfortable and wishing I was on the ground, or finding excuses not to fly.

A good wing drop and I up for going back to land.

Over the last year os so instructing I have flown in some bad weather, but recently extreme caution has come into play and I am unsure how to deal with it.

Any feedback reagrding causes, and ways of dealing with this kind of matter would be greatly appreciated.

gingernut
30th Mar 2004, 08:38
Yellowvestman, do you mind me asking what exactly you are scared of, is it the sickly feeling you can get in the bumps, is it a fear of something else (eg crashing), or is it that there is actually no underlying fear, just generalised anxiety whn tossed about ?

Without wanting to go into too much detail in this (open) forum, is their other things that have gone on, in your life, recently, to explain your present feelings ?

The answers given may give a clue to the underlying cause, and treatment. (yes there are many)

By the way, it doesn't sound like your losing the plot. I'm a lot more inexperienced than you, granted, but I still feel sick everytime I think of going flying when its bumpy, I thought everyone did !

Wycombe
30th Mar 2004, 09:18