PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Use "1 & 1" E-Mail Service?

BLUE SKY THINKER
26th Mar 2004, 18:19
Signed up with "One & One" last week ("voted the best web host in the UK"!) having seen a number of recommendations on this forum. .....The object of the exercise was to set up a domain name Outlook Express account, in preparation for a possible ISP move from AOL, whose e-mail program I have been using for the last three years (with no problem).

As part of this process - and not being very familiar with O.Ex. - I have done some intensive e-mail exchanges between my AOL and 1&1 O.Ex. accounts over the last three days. .....I have to say I am absolutely appalled at the amount of mail that has gone missing outbound from 1&1, combined with server errors. .....My settings are OK, because some is getting through.

Spoke to a very unconvincing gentleman just now on customer support (but at least he was in the UK!): "lots of problems last couple of weeks; virus on the server". .....Well that instilled some 'new customer confidence'. ....."Trouble is, all these people sending e-mail with no anti-virus on their computer" .....What!? .....Presumably a common problem; doesn't seem to have affected AOL. ....."Ah; they've all got it" .....I gave up at this point.

Is this the 'norm.'? .....Anyone else experienced any problems with this lot; although I suppose you might not know your mail is going adrift?

BST.

Diverse
26th Mar 2004, 19:52
I've been using them for the past 2 years and never had a problem, though it did seem to work a lot happier using OE6 than other mail clients like thunderbird. Using Netscape 7's mail program it constantly kept asking for my password and failing to log on. They were sods when I tried to cancel a domain they were hosting. They denied all knowledge of receiving my cancellation notification. I faxed it to them in the end.