PDA

View Full Version : Question for pilots from a Ramp rat

RampDog
13th Mar 2004, 19:22
Ok, I'm a ground service agent and I see you guys doing your walkarounds during the course of the day.
If I want to get the atttention of a Four striper and I don't know his name I call out, Captain! or Skipper! or maybe Boss. But if I see a Three striper doing the walk around, how do I get his attention without just yelling out "hey mate"?
How do you address each other on the flight deck, is it mostly informal (i.e. first names) or strictly business?
Just asking from a courtesy point of view, as I think, showing a bit of respect if not too old fashioned (or is it?).

RampDog

redsnail
13th Mar 2004, 19:56
Good question. :D
Our Aboriginal cousins usually just yell out "hey Pahlot" if they are being formal, or "hey you puckin pahlot" if not. :cool:

In the companies I have worked for it is informal. First names or nicknames as the case may be. (For PA's it is formal, title and surname)

To be honest, if a ramp guy called out "hey mate" to me I wouldn't find it offensive. "oi, you sh!t head"might make me rethink that though. :ok:

woftam
13th Mar 2004, 23:15
RampDog,
You wouldn't see too many F/O's doing the walkaround I wouldn't think would you? (unless it's raining !)
Usually they are up in the cockpit beavering away with the FMC and T/O data while the Captain has a little stroll and goes back up when the work's all done.
I take my time on the walkaround so there's not too much left to do once I get back. :O
Something difficult might come up, so best not to be there!
To answer your question though, I'm sure there's not too many that would mind being simply addressed as "mate".
:ok:

DirectAnywhere
14th Mar 2004, 03:51
"Hey mate" works just fine for me. I'm never outside though...:D

RampDog
14th Mar 2004, 22:13
If I'm not sure, I don't hesitate to call a pilot "mate", because in general no true Aussie would be offended.