PDA

View Full Version : ability to work in Mexico

thesheet
7th Mar 2004, 09:25
I am a Canadian citizen/ATR rated pilot living in Mexico.

I would like to know if there is any chance that I could work in Mexico?

-I am under the impression that being a non-citizen means that I will never be allowed to work here.

-Can one get around this by working under a "contract"? Not that I've ever seen a contract job for Mexico.

Any Mexican pilots please email me... I live in the Yucatan and would be interested to hear from you..

Squawk7777
7th Mar 2004, 22:03
thesheet,

unfortunately, the answer is no unless you were born in Mexico. The Mexican aviation regulations only allow Mexicans and Mexicans by birth only to hold a commercial pilot's license. So, that makes it almost impossible and your chances are probably much higher if you have a desire to fly north of the southern border ... :rolleyes:

Mexico's aviation industry has not really recovered. Mexicana has not yet recalled their laid-off pilots, Aeromexico is supposed to start limited recruiting for their regional airline Aerolitoral. The airlines that are hiring on a limited basis are Aviacsa, Azteca and Aeromar. The first two require you to hold a 737 type rating.

We had a pretty fierce discussion about working in Latin America on this rather calm forum a couple of months ago. I don't know if it is still available, Captain Stable had to take it offline, it got so "fiery" ... (without using habaneros :E )

7 7 7 7

thesheet
7th Mar 2004, 22:11
Thanks for the answer.

It doesn't look good. So even if I have an owner of a business jet who wants me to fly for him, I can't because of the commercial pilot licence restriction?

Could I fly in Mexico if it is a business that I owned?

thesheet

Squawk7777
7th Mar 2004, 22:19