PDA

View Full Version : What did YOU study??

MARZ
6th Mar 2004, 14:51
Am a student learning to fly.
Is a tertiary degree necessary in the field of aviation? when I say degree I mean a degree in anything (not necessarily an aviation degree)

For all the professional pilot's out there...

what are you flying and who are you flying for?

IF you went to university, what did you study?

cheers guys, Marz

The Bullwinkle
6th Mar 2004, 18:40
A degree is not necessary, but it doesn't hurt.

I did my Bachelor of Aviation degree through distance education, but I didn't start it until I already had about 2000 hrs.

The degree itself did have some interesting subjects, which have given me a better appreciation and understanding of various aviation aspects.

Almost any degree shows a potential employer that you are motivated, and I must say that it hasn't hurt my career at all.

Good luck.
BW

redsnail
6th Mar 2004, 19:00
Don't have a degree in any subject.

Hugh Jarse
7th Mar 2004, 01:22
You have a degree from the University of Life:ok:

Good luck with the training:}

Marz, I don't have a degree, but if I were to choose one it certainly wouldn't be aviation. I'd probably look at something that's pertinent to flying and as a backstop if things don't go quite the way you hope....

Rich-Fine-Green
7th Mar 2004, 04:40
No degree here either - Aviation has been good to me.

HJ has the right advice - if you want letters after your name, try something that will help if things go pear-shaped.

redsnail
7th Mar 2004, 06:34
Aww Jarse! I saw enough folk get degrees at Big Mac to have an idea about the system :D

If I was to do a degree, I would probably do law. I reckon that would be very very useful. :E Especially in this industry.

MARZ
7th Mar 2004, 06:59
thats interesting- thanks guys