PDA

View Full Version : Sponsorship from BA

Dead_Heading
24th Feb 2004, 04:19
Hi- quite a common question, but here we go.
I have been very interested in flying all my life, and several years ago decided I wanted to be a pilot. I want to get sponsored after university, and am wondering what BA are looking for?

I am currently studying for my GCSEs (am doing 11), and am preicted mainly As and A*s, including A for maths and A* for physics, which are my favourtie subjects. After this I have applied to go to 6th form to study all 3 sciences and maths, and have been accepted. After this I hope to get an aeronautical engineering degree. I have my Silver and Bronze Duke of Edimburgh awards, am currently working on my Gold and also enjoy scuba diving. I have perfect colour vision, and require -3.25 dioptre correction in each eye, so I should be Ok for a class 1, as I have no other medical problems.

Provided I achieve the results I am predicted/hope for, do I stand a good chance for sponsorship from BA?

A340_rulez
24th Feb 2004, 05:17
I am also in the same position as you mate at exactly the same stage but to my knowledge (i have done a little research) BA no longer has a sponsership. It appears that since 9/11 or maybe prior to that, it was stopped.

Although i stand to be corrected.

A340

Dead_Heading
24th Feb 2004, 05:20
Really? I've been labouring under false pretences then. I'll look into other airlines sponsorship stratagies in more detail then. I had been in contact with BA prior to 9/11 and got a whole load of stuff on sponsorship, but nothing much on selection

D_H

OBK!
24th Feb 2004, 10:29
Dead_Heading

by the looks of things, you're talking about 6 years down the line until you finish uni...

Plenty of time for things to change.

HZ123
24th Feb 2004, 14:14