PDA

View Full Version : Sigh again...


HugMonster
9th Mar 2002, 17:28
After many trials and tribulations, get Windows XP how you like it. Spend quite some time playing with it, find it's a great version of Windows, and a HUGE improvement on WinME. Reload all your software. Set a recovery point.. .. .Decide one more thing needs doing before you hit the sack for the night - flash the BIOS with the latest update.. .. .Flash the BIOS. Wonder why, when you reboot, you get the message "C:\Windows\System\Config is corrupted".. .. .Run the windows repair module from the Win XP CDROM. Wonder why it won't run, and you get a message saying "NTFS.SYS is corrupted".. .. .Boot from floppy. decide to try going back to the old BIOS. Reflash.. .. .Try to boot again. Get a few beeps from the innards of the machine, then a black screen, and nothing further.. .. .Give up. Go to bed.. .. .Wake up, remembering that, if the HD is corrupted, you've just lost all your latest emails, address book entries, all work done (LOTS) in the past few days, favourites, documents.... .. .Spend the rest of the night trying to get to sleep and not let worry stop Morpheus coming for you.. .. .Phone the puter retailers. Discover you need a new motherboard. It'll be at least two days before an engineer can even call you to set up a visit.. .. .Get the laptop out.. .. .Try to work out how much you will have lost...

DX Wombat
9th Mar 2002, 17:36
Hmmm, you aren't having much luck recently are you? Hope things change soon. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Smile]" src="smile.gif" />

max_cont
10th Mar 2002, 12:34
HugMonster, try formatting your drive into at least two partitions.. .. .When you get up and running make the primary partition around 8GBs and install the operating system into this. The extended partition can be used for data. If you have another disaster you only need to re-install the OS without losing all your valuable data.. .. .Ive had the kind of disasters you describe. Im an over-clocker, so I run the risk of catastrophe every time I start to push the ragged edge. I have been responsible for the demise of some of the fastest CPUs and the newest motherboards. I had to design a bit of redundancy into the computer. I duel-boot W2K for reliability and ME (for games). My set-up is 10GBs for W2k, 7GBs for ME. 43GB remains for data. I am also running RAID 0 + 1 which has saved my butt when a HDD failed. I fried a motherboard when I had a coolant leak and it flowed over all the PCI slots. My other half found me chewing the desk and suffering from uncontrollable top lip quiver <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="wink.gif" /> . .. .Good luck with your re-build.. . . . <small>[ 10 March 2002, 07:48: Message edited by: max_cont ]</small>

HugMonster
10th Mar 2002, 19:28
It now appears that the HDD is OK. I suspect that the CMOS EEPROM has not been properly flashed, and can't find peripherals. When I switch it on, everything appears to run. However, the HDD and the graphics card stay dormant.. .. .I've tried everything I can think of, or can find on the net to depower the CMOS, so it will revert to the original BIOS. Left the battery out overnight, have tried various other tricks, to no avail.. .. .It looks like I will have to replace at least the EEPROM (if I can get it out and find a new one) or, at worst, replace the motherboard.. .. .The laptop is proving less than reliable as well - but it's ancient, and I suspect that the world now runs a little fast for it. It takes quite a bit of persuading to get it online, and while I can receive emails I can't seem to send them from OE. Time it was retired.. .. .Thanks for the suggestions, max. I actually have 2 HDD's - the second one contains most of my stuff, but things that the OS insists have to be on the system disk (My Documents, OE address book, Favourites) I should back up more often than I do. One thing I shall do when I'm up and running again will be to move all my MIDI work in progress off the main HDD onto the one I use for files.... .. .I shall also copy more off the machine entirely onto the laptop, just to save it!

The Nr Fairy
10th Mar 2002, 19:48
Hugs :. .. . Get TweakUI and you can chage the location for My Documents and all that other good stuff.

HugMonster
10th Mar 2002, 19:51
Ah!!! I've had TweakUI in the past, not used it for quite some time - didn't realise it would do that.. .. .Brill! Thanks for that, Nr! <img border="0" title="" alt="[Cool]" src="cool.gif" /> . .. .Just thought - another thing I could do I include a few copy commands in the autoexec.bat file to backup stuff automatically on startup, or set one up to run from the RUN prompt - would avoid backing up if I didn't want it to.. . . . <small>[ 10 March 2002, 15:45: Message edited by: HugMonster ]</small>

The Nr Fairy
10th Mar 2002, 21:57
Hugs :. .. . It's in the "My Computer" tab - Special folders bit where you actually do the changes.. .. . As for backing up automatically, we use an Onstream tape backup in the office - 30Gb on a tape, dead easy to use with software which will do it all for you, and they come in parallel or USB versions.. .. .P.S. - shouldn't this be moved out into Computers and Internet ? <img border="0" title="" alt="[Big Grin]" src="biggrin.gif" />