PDA

View Full Version : Toilet Maths

AerBabe
12th Feb 2004, 21:00
I learned an interesting fact while powdering my nose earlier:
For every 25 women in a building there must be one toilet, plus one. Now, since we have about 200 women we have 9 toilets. Given that on average we take about 3 minutes over it (or am I being optimistic?) this means that every woman in the building is able to go once every hour. Roughly.

Now, I usually don't go that often. Unless I've had too much tea or beer it would be every 3 h ish. So someone in my office is going a LOT. I just can't work out who. :hmm:

Incipient Sinner
12th Feb 2004, 21:04
AerBabe,

I'm no expert on womens' loos and I don't doubt the facts but where does the plus one come into it?

Just in case the Boss comes in after 4% of all girls go to the loo at once??

Ozzy
12th Feb 2004, 21:14
For every 25 women in a building there must be one toilet, plus one. If that's the case then how come in many places there's always a massive queue for the ladies bog while the blokes toilet is walk up service (as it were):confused:

Ozzy

Onan the Clumsy
12th Feb 2004, 22:01
Toilet maths?

1 + 1 = 1

1 + 2 = a big pile of 2

2 + 0 = FALSE (you can't have 2 without 1)

TheStormyPetrel
12th Feb 2004, 23:12
The calculation does not seem to take into account females who visit the building. Unless that's what the "+ 1" covers.

The long queues just show that the KISS principle does not work when applied to this scenario.

There are heaps of factors that affect female toilets more than male, like most accompanied children go with females to the female loo. Also, at some times of the month, women may take longer at the loo. It takes time to change torn pantyhose. Plus the "clean up after you" that is more likely by women takes time .... Which brings to mind:

"If you sprinkle when you tinkle, be a sweetie, wipe the seatie" is inside a toilet I know of - it takes time if it's done!

timmcat
12th Feb 2004, 23:48