PDA

View Full Version : Airline Pilot- at my age?????

jam123
23rd Jan 2004, 00:49
Dear all,

Please, I need help!!!!!!!!!

I am 31 and work for the government as a civil servant and have always wanted to be an airline pilot. My concerns are obviously my age. Have i left it too late? I would welcome advice from anyone out there, whether your a 747 captain or a wannabe!!

Secondly, i only have 6 GCSE's. Would this be a problem when the airlines look at my CV.

Finally, Ideally, i would like to be able to get to fly the 767, 757, 330's type a/c on long haul - even if it's in the RHS. How realistic is all this???????

Thanks

Jam

CAT3C AUTOLAND
23rd Jan 2004, 01:00
Jam,

I am by no means an expert on this, however, I would go for it. Obvously there are a number of factors to consider and it depends on your circumstances, for example are you a home owner, do you have a family and other responsibilites etc etc. How will this affect your training program?

While I was doing my APTL's there were plenty of people well into their thirties and still pursuing their ambition. I am sure that some people will argue that the younger you are the more chance you have of getting employed as a professional pilot, however, I think if you are determined enough you will achieve what you want to achieve, no matter how long it takes.