PDA

View Full Version : FAA IR rating

Topgun 4122T
22nd Jan 2004, 05:12
Has anybody done a FAA IR then came back to the uk and done the conversion to the jAR IR .. would you advise this or is it a bad idea ? it seems to be a good way to save a few pound ?

skyman68
22nd Jan 2004, 05:57
yes do that. write me and give me your e mail adress by MP if you want more info

dorosenco
22nd Jan 2004, 09:09
Derek,

I did that myself. Check my website www.passion2fly.com for more info or send me an e-mail.

good luck,

Keygrip
22nd Jan 2004, 09:19
derek - it certainly is one of the ways to go (and I am a great pro-ponent of it).

However- if you think you are going to do the conversion course in the minimum 15 hours (or anywhere near it) you have to be EXTREMELY careful as to where to do the FAA course beforehand.

Rightly, or wrongly, just passing the FAA ride and holding "the ticket" will NOT, in any way, shape, or form, prepare you for the JAA instrumentr rating skill test. Nothing to do with standards - just a different set of rules, different way of life - different procedures.

I've observed on courses where guys have been SPECIFICALLY TAUGHT the drills and procedures required by the European authorities - lots of simulator time, done with European R/T, European routes in the database - everything.

It still took them an avergae of 20 hours on return from the USA.

I say again - nothing to do with standards - just a different philosophy.

I still think it's a good idea - but be very selective in where you go to do this....and remember, only 40% of I/R test candidates gain a full pass at their 1st attempt.

dorosenco
23rd Jan 2004, 02:58
Derek,

I did my IR in the UK in 15 hours (I was ready in 12). The main differences/difficulties were :
- R/T a little different. In 5 hours you get it figured out.
- Use of ICAO flight plans instead of FAA
- The routes are MUCH shorter
- Relearn NDB approaches (never used them in the US before)
- Altimeter setting procedures