PDA

View Full Version : The cost of a pint!

kingfisher03
28th Oct 2001, 01:50
I am really really (really!) peed off.

At the country pub today, enjoying an extra cold Guiness. Come out to the car park to find the car had 'rolled' across the car park, over the owners plant pots and through his fence.

He had parked his car in front of mine, and demanded at least 40 before I was allowed to leave.

Well I paid the 40 (a lot of money for an unemployed pilot!) - my saturday night money gone!

Im sure the damage was only 5 tops. How can I get my money back????????? (some something back!)

tony draper
28th Oct 2001, 01:19
Sounds like demanding money with menaces to me, go see a brief, have the ****** nicked, then sue, you know bad dreams, flash backs, anxiety, ect.

Grainger
28th Oct 2001, 01:20
Bummer.

When I was a student, you could get three pints of Ruddles, two packets of crisps AND still have change from a pound... :(

Unwell_Raptor
28th Oct 2001, 01:27
If your car went through the fence 40 doesn't sound too bad. It's cheaper than getting the handbrake fixed!

And another thing....in the Nottingham University Buttery in the late 60s, a pound would buy you ten pints of bitter, and you would have enough left over for a half and a packet of crisps. This lunchtime we bought three pints of Stella and paid 8.10!

Grainger
28th Oct 2001, 01:30
Oh UR.....

and I thought I was showing my age !!

tony draper
28th Oct 2001, 01:55
Huh!, I remember when you could buy a house for ten pounds. ;)
Anyway why didn't you call the constabulary Mr K, of course that may not have worked out to your advantage either, they might have done you for leaving the vehicle in a dangerous condition, but I'm sure they would have told that guy to shift his car bloody double quick.

Unwell_Raptor
28th Oct 2001, 03:40
Sorry td, I can see the policeman now: "Sorry, it's a civil matter. Can't help"

Paterbrat
28th Oct 2001, 04:03