PDA

View Full Version : Taking advantage of the present US exchange rate

Wireless
14th Jan 2004, 02:30
Hello,

I have a question of a financial nature.

I have been saving up for 2 years to go to the States and train for an FAA CPL/IR. I have about another month of saving to go. I am going to start getting detailed quotes from training providers then see about sorting a validation and visas etc. I estimate to be going out in May. These are my questions:-

1/. I would like to know what you think of taking advantage of the good Sterling/Dollar exchange rate? I have just a UK current account. I have limited knowledge of finance and I was wondering if it were possible to convert around 85% of my funds to US dollars now (leaving aside for airfares etc). It sounds stupid but can you hold an amount in foreign currency in a UK bank account? If not what account would allow this?

2/. Also what are the cheapest ways that people use to convert money when paying for training? I have heard the Post Office is OK.

I am wary as I have no knowledge in this area as I have always had to exchange only small amounts on holiday. I listen to Radio 2 and an accountant chap has a spot on the Johnny Walker show. He gives the commercial rates and has been saying that now is a good time to take advantage. But what's the best way for me?

Any advice greatly received. Bill

747FOCAL
14th Jan 2004, 02:54
Just bring your pounds to the states and you will get a good exchange rate at any bank. Especially if you are opening a new account. :ok:

Naples Air Center, Inc.
14th Jan 2004, 03:13
Wireless,

If you want to take advantage of the exchange rate, look into wiring your money to the U.S., since you will be wiring enough money to cover a course and living expenses, it might be enough to get the business rate. (Which is usually a better exchange rate.)

Take Care,

Capt. Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Naples Air Center, Inc.

Wireless
14th Jan 2004, 05:17
Thanks for the help.

Straight and level,