PDA

View Full Version : Safe Computer Usage

Fergal20
9th Jan 2004, 20:11
Hello,

I have a PLL and I'm currently in my last year of doing my degree in computer programming. I am worried that as I am using a computer very often that I am going to damage my eyes. I did have perfect eyesight but recently I noticed a slight blurriness in one of my eyes.

What are the recommended guidelines when using computers so as not to damage your eyes, or is there any?

Also, does anyone know of any site on the web that I can download an eye sight test chart (the one with all the letters on it - don’t know what its called).

Thanks in advance.

Krallu
9th Jan 2004, 21:22
Hi there!

I recommend buying some plus lens glasses for reading. +1 to start with. Even if you don't need them but if you use them at computer work then the eyes can only progress in the "right" way and won't get nearsighted.

In the beginning it might feel a little odd but you can read and the eyes will adapt to it.

If you put on minus glasses that you normally get for nearsightedness the eyes will adapt the other way and you can get more nearsightedness from that.

Then common sense is also applied to it. Keep normal distance to screen and try to look away and focus on something far away from time to time.

Try to relax your eyes and use palming technique. You can find that if you search the net.

Have a nice day!

KingAir77
9th Jan 2004, 21:32
Hi,
I worked in IT for years before starting my flying carreer. All I can suggest you is to use TFT flat screens as much as you can, as they pose less stress on the eyes (the image is not re-generated when no changes happen in the screen, so they do not have the "flickering" that even high frequerncy CRT minitors have). They were introduced when I worked in the field, and I could notice that I was less tired after a day´s work when using laptops or desktop TFT´s.