PDA

View Full Version : Recreative flying in Australia

CHCH
13th Dec 2003, 07:29
Hi there,

Beginning of next year I'm going to Australia and New-Zealand for 2 months. Now I plan to fly as well over there. Some questions;

- What do I need to do to convert my licence (I have a CPL (SE+ME+type B747-400))?
- What is the most interesting region to fly in (it's my first time going there)?
- What are the average costs of hiring a C172, Piper,....?

All other information is highly appreciated!

Thanks, CHCH

High Altitude
13th Dec 2003, 10:11
Great locations out of Darwin...

Darwin - Timber Creek - Kununurru - Bungles - Elquestro - Cape Leveque - Broome - Ayers Rock - Alice Springs - Katherine and the list goes on.

Aircraft hire is very light on the ground in Darwin. There is a C210H available, Possibly also a B58 at around $500ph (wet).

Good luck and have fun... Ya ya... Aufweidersen...

Dupre
13th Dec 2003, 12:12
I can't answer the licence conversion question, but I can help with aircraft cost.

In New Zealand expect anywhere between NZ$140 - $170 per hour (hobbs) for a C172 or Cherokee. Add an instructor for around $20/hr to $45/hr depending where you go.

You'd obviously pay a little less for a 2-seater (C152, Tomahawk between $120 and $150) and a little more for a complex single (arrow, C177, Mooney, C180, C182 - anywhere from $150 to $250 depending on the place and model).

As for the best place to go flying? New Zealand of course!! (not that I'm biased... :P) Flying around the southern alps (South Island) is incredible, but don't ignore the rest of the country as well.

If you want any more info, or web-sites to try give me a yell.

Good luck, fly safe.

Dupre.

On Track
14th Dec 2003, 12:48
The question about foreigners flying privately in Australia has been answered on pprune in the past, so I'm sure you'll find it with a bit of searching.