PDA

View Full Version : perf

ccc111
12th Dec 2003, 06:03
took the perf exam on 1st dec.
the question of why is the step climb used. same question came up in nov with only adhere to ATC being correct , but in dec same answer came up but this time increase range was one of the answers. any one know.

figair
12th Dec 2003, 06:41
hi ccc111
not that i'm an expert but to my knowledge a cruise climb would definetely increase range, however because it would be almost impossible to have every a/c on a cruise climb in our busy airspaces a Step Climb has been introduced. I therefore reckon that ATC compliance is the most correct answer for both questions.
Hope this helps you to relax while waiting for your result.

Send Clowns
12th Dec 2003, 07:13
I think you'll find it tough to get permission even for a step climb in busy airspace.

Looking at it in the way figair puts it then it depends with what you are comparing the step climb. If you are comparing it with trucking along level for the trip, then the purpose is to reduce fuel consumption (which does increase range as a side issue. Don't you hate JAA?). If comparing with a cruise climb then it assists ATC, and may aid adherence to ATC procedures. Then again in reality ATC may tell you to descend for traffic flow, so the answer is inelegant.

The point is the best answer I can see at the moment (note I have only taught P of F, not performance) is to increase range. Depending on how the question is worded, ATC compliance is a possibility, but I would have to see more precise feedback.

pugzi
12th Dec 2003, 16:43
I confir wholely with Sent Clowns.
I thought the answer for a longtime was to comply with ATC because I assumed the step climb was being compared to the cruise climb which is to always stay with the optimum altitude (Maximum specific range) which increases with a decrease in weight.