PDA

View Full Version : Psychic power: Fact or Fake?

Flying Lawyer
14th Dec 2001, 16:37
Met Uri Geller socially last weekend. Very interesting, and extremely likeable guy.

(1) He bent a teaspoon whilst I watched very carefully, having examined it first. As far as I could tell, it was an ordinary spoon. He stroked it gently, no great pressure. After a few strokes, it bent about 60 degrees.
Like all lawyers, I'm naturally sceptical but - it happened!
How?

(2) Next ..... he asked me to draw a simple picture (whilst he looked away) then, whilst keeping it covered, to think about what I'd drawn. (A simple house - I'm no artist.) He then drew a house which was very similar to mine.
My first thought was most people who can't draw would draw a house because it's so easy. However, in a quick survey of 5 people at court on Monday morning, each drew something different - only one drew a house.

Any thoughts? :confused: :confused:

[ 14 December 2001: Message edited by: Flying Lawyer ]

Kalium Chloride
14th Dec 2001, 17:15
The spoon-bending thing has always fascinated me...

...I'm envious that you've seen it first-hand

Velvet
14th Dec 2001, 17:46
Similarly I have a friend who can tell you a word or phrase that you are thinking of. I don't know how David does it, but it happens.

He ssks that you write down a word or phrase where he can't see it - in another room, away from his sight or just with his back turned. Then fold it up seal it in an envelope and hold it in plain sight. He then says which word or phrase, it's not a trick - I've done this with him and so have several of our friends - it's quite spooky actually. There is no way he could know the word or phrase in advance - but it can't be more than say ten words long.

He can only explain it by stating that he looks at the person's forehead and the word or phrase comes into his mind.

Just goes to show that there are more things in heaven and earth than are dreamed of in our philosophy (sic)

bubba zanetti